Showing Collections: 176 - 200 of 356
Jerdone Family Papers
John Dandridge Papers
Papers; 1767-1825; of John Dandridge and John Hopkins. Include letters of Dandridge to Hopkins concerning his law practice; courtship; financial matters; a trip to the Sweet Springs (Monroe County, Va.) for his health; and "Providence Forge," New Kent County, Va. Includes papers (legal documents and accounts) concerning John Dandridge, Bartholomew Dandridge, John Armistead, William Armistead and John Hopkins.
Jones-Bethune Family Papers
Papers, 1847-1859, of the Jones and Bethune families. Includes letters written to Cornelia C. Bethune Jones of Columbus, Ga. and Barbour County, Ala; letters written to John Bethune; and receipts for the purchase of slaves.
Clarence P. Jones, Jr. Papers
Legal documents of the family of Reps Jones (fl. 1773) of Lunenburg County, Va. Other members of the family were wife Lucretia Jones, sons Reps Jones, Drury Jones, William Jones, Thomas Jones, Stephen Jones and daughters Mary Ann Jones and Martha Jones. Collection also includes papers of Thomas and Robert Blackwell.
Jones Family Papers
Maben Jones Papers
Papers of and collected by Maben Jones, a genealogist from Columbia, S.C. Includes Jones' genealogical notes, correspondence, and research papers, including photocopied correspondence, legal papers, and other primary source material concerning the Jones family, Flippen family, LeGrand family, Dibrell family, Walker family, Walton family, Scott family, Woodson family and West family. Most of the families that Jones was interested in were from Buckingham County, Va.
Patrick H. Jones Papers
Papers, 1829-1905, of Patrick H. Jones of Louisa County, Va. Chiefly accounts of Jones, both personal and related to his partnership with Elisha Melton. Includes account book for a bar operated by Jones in 1852-1853 and contracts between Jones and Melton to lease the bar, lease for woodland and contract with railroad to sell wood. Collection also includes agreements to hire slaves.
King's Daughters. Kate Custis Circle (Williamsburg, Va.) Records
Sir Godfrey Kneller Annuity Receipt
Receipt, 27 June 1716, signed by G[odfrey] Kneller, for 18 pounds for an annuity plan from the British government. Plan as "an act for granting to Her Majesty new Duties of Excife [excise] and upon feveral [several] imported Commodities, and for eftablifhing [establishing] a yearly Fund thereby, and by other Ways and Means to raife [raise], Nine hundred thoufand [thousand] Pounds by Sale of Annuities, for the Service of the Year 1710, and other Ufes [uses] therein mentioned."
L. C. Watts Receipt Book
Receipt book, 1887-1909, of L. C. Watts, sheriff of Albemarle County, Virginia.
The Reverend Henry Gardiner Lane Memorial Collection
Benjamin Layman Papers
Accounts, 1752-1786, of Benjamin Layman, Shenandoah County, Va.; and accounts, 1788-1815, concerning Layman's estate kept by Godfrey Wilkin, his executor.
Richard Bland Lee Papers
Promissory notes to Benjamin Stoddert and transfer of a deed of mortgage for Cabin Point in Westmoreland County, Va. signed by Richard Bland Lee and Henry Lee from Bushrod Washington to John C. Scott.
Robert E. Lee Papers
Letter, 4 May 1861, to Robert E. Lee from T. Rowland of Fairfax County, Va. desiring a commission with the Virginia forces, bearing endorsement of Lee. Includes printed material regarding Lee, such as his farewell address to the Army of Northern Virginia, his will, and photographs and engravings of Lee.
Moses Leonard Papers
Accounts, 1758-1792, of Moses Leonard, treasurer and collector of taxes for several parishes in West Springfield, Mass.
Leven Powell papers
Dangerfield Lewis Papers
Philip Lightfoot Papers
Andrew Lindamood Papers
Papers, 1768-1817, of Andrew Lindamood, Shenandoah County, Va. Includes accounts and a deed, 18 August 1789, signed by Beverley Randolph, governor of Virginia, granting land in Shenandoah County.
Francis Little Collection
An artificial collection of manuscripts collected by Francis Little. Includes contract, 1770, binding William Byrd III to payment of money in a case involving Robert Carter (signed by William Byrd, John Jameson, George Wythe and Thomas Walne); letter, 1812, of William Henry Harrison to Return Jonathan Meigs concerning an expedition against Tecumseh; grant, 1822, for land in Ohio signed by James Monroe; grant, 1837, for land in Ohio; and two Civil War letters.
6 items.
R. H. Logan Papers
Papers, 1895-1899, of R. H. Logan, an attorney, in Salem, Va. Includes correspondence concerning his law practice.
Luttrell-Cooke Papers
Office of Management and Budget Records, 1972-1988
Acc. 1997.007: contains subject files from the Office of Management and Budget from 1972 to 1997.
Acc. T2000.003: contains subject files from the Office of Management and Budget from 1988-1998.
Manuscripts - People and Family Names
An artificial collection of papers created from material acquired during the 1930's and 1940's. Mostly letters, financial records, published material and official records of individuals in Virginia and elsewhere. Includes documents and signatures of well known people, such as Benjamin Harrison, John Randolph and Franklin D. Roosevelt.
Martin Family Papers
This collection contains papers of the Martin family of North Carolina. It is primarily composed of papers and correspondence with relatives in North Carolina and Virginia, 1862-1868, belonging to Major Thomas Alston Martin who served in the 13th North Carolina Infantry. Several letters date to the Civil War and refer to camp conditions. It includes letters, 1862, of R. C. Martin written while serving in the Confederate Army. Many of the letters were written by women.